622 Washington Street
This building has housed many businesses, including Hartman's and Stephen and Sipple. The building dates back to at least the 1880s.
Edward Jones moved into this building at 622 Washington Street in 1995. Previously it had been Fletchall Office Supply from 1975 to 1995. Sears used the building from the 1960s to 1975. In the 1940s through 1950s, Adelane's Ready-To-Wear used the space. Businesses at this location date back at least to 1885.
This is a non-contributing building in the National Register Court House Historic District.
A. C. Smith and Isaac Graham bought the business From P.W. Hartman in 1927 and moved to Chillicothe with their families. The business was renamed the Smith Department Store. Smith Department Store only seemed to last until about 1930. By 1932 Shuey Style Store was located there.
In 1929, Smith's leased the second floor to Dolph Maupin, who returned to Chillicothe to start the Mid-West Business School. Mr. Maupin had run the Maupin College located above the New York Store until 1910.
Hartman’s Ladies Ready-To-Wear started in Chillicothe in 1897. The 1899 city director lists Simon P. and Phil W. Hartman as proprietors serving dry goods, cloaks, suits, boots, shoes, carpets, and curtains. In 1917, the business included ladies ready-to-wear clothing, furnishings, shoes, and millinery (ladies’ hats). Phil Hartman sold the business in late 1927 and moved to Kansas City.
According to the early Sanborn fire insurance maps, this building, then numbered at 724 Washington, was divided into three businesses. Sometime around 1885 to 1890 Stephens & Sipple had a store at this location. The 1885 Sanborn map shows this was a dry goods store with a photography studio on the second floor. Next to this, was a “B&S” (boots and shoes); it’s not clear if this could have been part of Stephens & Sipple. In 1890 this was clothing & gentlemen’s furnishings with the photography studio on the second floor. In 1896 the corner section changed to a grocery with the photography studio on the second floor as well as another “office.” The middle section was now a jewelry store, book store, and wallpaper store with a vacant second floor.